About Us

About Us

The Oakwood University Alumni Association is organized to connect and engage Oakwood alumni, students and friends of the University and promote the welfare of Oakwood University. We have a desire to constantly improve the quality and scope of the work we do. We need your help. Oakwood Alumni and friends are talented and proud of our legacy, together we can build upon our past and create new opportunities for the future.

National Officers

President
Cynthia Powell-Hicks ’76
president.ouaa@gmail.com
General Vice President
Desmond Pierre-Louis ’81
vicepresident.ouaa@gmail.com
Vice President of Development
Eleanor Palmer ’94
PALMERE5@nationwide.com
Treasurer
Randal Leonard ’80
RLeonard@bowiestate.edu
Assistant Treasurer
Tammy Woodfork ’80
tammy.woodfork214@gmail.com
Secretary
Patricia McBean Pates ’83
secretaryouaa@gmail.com
Assistant Secretary
Harry Swinton Jr.
harryswintonjr@hotmail.com
Chaplain
Donald L. Bedney II ’79
donald@bedney.com
Sergeant-at-Arms
Jayson S. Brown ’05
jaysonbrown@live.com
Parliamentarian
Anthony J. Aubrey Jr. ’03
aalbury3@gmail.com
 

 

Regional Vice Presidents

Allegheny East Conference
​​Carla Lawton-Johnson, ’88
carlajurisd@aol.com
​Allegheny West Conference
​Vacancy and if interested please email: vicepresident.ouaa@gmail.com
Lake Region Conference
Barbara Ann Escoe Bryant, ’82
b_abryant@yahoo.com
​Central States  Conference
Darrell Alexander, ’80
musicmanrn@gmail.com
​Northeastern Conference
Kristina Desir, ’12
kristnadesir@gmail.com
Pacific Union
William R Wright Jr, ’64
drwrwbill60@gmail.com
​South Atlantic Conference
Emile Parker,’83 
rvpsouthatlantic.ouaa@gmail.com
​South Central Conference
Debrah Slack, ’06
rvpsouthcentral.ouaa@gmail.com
Southeastern Conference
Shawn R. H. Smith, ’98
shawnsmithlaw@yahoo.com
​Southwest Region Conference
Peggy Burns, ’83
pburnstoole@yahoo.com
 

 

OUAA Chapter Presidents

​Ann Knight/MS Chapter
Olga Watts Nelson
owattsnel@yahoo.com​
​AS Rashford, New York
Ernest Flowers
Earnestflowers3rd@yahoo.com
​Central CA Chapter
Elder David Hudgens
dhudgens@gmail.com
​DB Reid Chapter (Huntsville, AL)
Isaiah Ashe
Isaiah.ashe@yahoo.com
Joseph Hinson Chapter
Terrance Hines
elisehines@aol.com
Michiana Chapter (Berrien Springs)
Joan Tynes
Jjt3377@gmail.com
Greater Washington DC Chapter
Christian Batson, Jr. (Chris)
Bat3pop@yahoo.com
​Arizona Chapter
Myla Trimmins
myla.trimmins@phoenix.edu
Greater Atlanta Chapter
RELAUNCHING SOON
rvpsouthatlantic.ouaa@gmail.com
​Northern CA Chapter
Kelli Angus
keangus@gmail.com
​JL Moran Chapter (Huntsville, AL)
Charles Williams
Charle131@bellsouth.net
Louisiana Chapter
Patrice Haywood
Haywoodp3@aol.com
Greater Nashville Chapter
Duane Harrison, M.D.
duaneharrisonmd@gmail.com
Bahamas Chapter
Allison Rolle
ALLISONROLLE@bahamas.gov.bs
Athletic Affinity Group
Patrick Jones
Patrick.jones@microsoft.com
​California Chapter(Riverside)
Danette Batiste
Danette.batiste@gmail.com
​Cincinnati Chapter
Daryl Foster
Saga@fuse.net
Houston Chapter
Peggy Burns
pburnstoole@yahoo.com
Detroit, Michigan Chapter
Malissa Martin
malissa_martin1@yahoo.com
Greater Orlando Chapter
Daniel Smith
ddmanagement@yahoo.com

OUAA Chapter Websites

Southern California Chapter Website
www.ouaasocal.org
Greater Orlando Chapter Website
ouaagoc.weebly.com